Sarika Panwar
1 min readSep 8, 2023

10 Metre Walk, Day 4/108

I used to be young. Now I just look young. I freed myself from the grips of highs and lows of life.

The road has almost cleared. There are tiny stones spread across the walkway with rich brown fertile mud.

The life in forest easily joins in as a pristine white snake appears from the lightly dense bushes. Her direction is towards me.

Coming closer, She starts from my toes, gliding on, With a slow swirl over my leg. I bend down and approach her with my right hand. She accepts my offer to slide onto my hand.

She is not more than 1.2–1.5 inches in diameter, Clear white. As she moves, Her very small eyes twinkle with occasional licks. Is she poisonous. You might be thinking. She is. Yet she knows when to use it. Right now, She is the most gentle creature of nature, light, beautiful and trusting.

As I move ahead, I see along the way, There are trees with long leafy branches. I take her to the closest branch and bridge her body onto to it.

As I watch her move away, joining her clan of white snakes.

I begin to walk again.

*Image by Federica Napoli.

Sarika Panwar

Currently writing "10 Metre Walk" Series for 108 days. A project about articulating experience of experiencing seeing and watching a "10 Metre Walk" everyday.